Impromptu Circa April First 2024 AD

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? The month of March became sort of an impromptu hiatus for me. I intended to post more frequently, but these things just never seem to go my way. Putting aside the distraction of Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth, I found myself at a constant standstill. Computer issues, lack of enthusiasm, typical OCD mental health journey stuff – it all worked against my desire to get back to this blog.

Truth be told, I’m not sure where I stand with this blog anymore. I like writing posts, but many of the topics I feel inclined to tackle are often overworked and dull. I don’t really want to talk about my OCD struggles because the very nature of this disorder tends to be cyclical, repetitive, and doesn’t make for very engaging content for the uninitiated. I enjoyed discussing my faith, and while I’m a Christian and know that grace will lead us home, I also recognize that quoting bible verses and interpreting Scripture becomes monotonous after a time. So where does that leave us?

Media analysis remains a favorite subject of mine and I’m always up for sharing insight into my own novels. My desire is to supplement the experience of reading or hearing my work, but I haven’t yet determined my preferred avenue for accomplishing this task. I’ve considered a segue into video content since at least October 2022, but life and uncertainty keep getting in the way.

I guess that’s what this post is about. Uncertainty. Not knowing what’s ahead or how to embrace it. Which is of course one of the many struggles someone with OCD is bound to have – the need to know what the future holds and to get it perfectly right. But I’m not a seer and I don’t claim to be. The goldilocks philosophy which is unfortunately deeply embedded in my psyche remains an issue – that feeling of needing something to be just right, but it’s never enough.

It seems I can’t actually avoid talking about OCD, doesn’t it? So, in true impromptu fashion, I guess I’ll just work with what I’ve been given. And maybe, for today at least, that’s enough.

Thank you for reading. God bless, have a wonderful day, and peace be with you.

Leave a comment